As you can imagine, this is a question we get asked a lot, and we felt that what should be a fairly simple question was worth a longer answer.
You see, everyone is different.
While the dictionary definitions of vegetarian/vegan are simple enough, people do follow different interpretations depending on their own beliefs and circumstances.
For example, many people are choosing to eat less meat for environmental or health reasons, but wouldn’t say they are vegetarian.
Some people may eat a typical vegetarian diet, but may still take supplements that use gelatine capsules.
I even know several people who have a vegan diet, but believe the benefits of a supplement such as Fish Oils are worth the compromise.
So on this page we’re going to give you all the information you may need in order to make an informed decision on whether our products, and our company, are the right fit for you.
In the sections below you will find specific allergen information for each product.
However, please note that all our products are manufactured on equipment that also process products containing nuts, milk, shellfish, fish and soya.
Listed allergens include Wheat, Barley & Celery
Wheat and Barley have to be listed as allergens, due to the inclusion of Wheatgrass and Barley grass, even though the young grass product and the mature grains are very different in nature.
(While our product doesn’t contain celery, it is a common cross-contaminant of carrot crops, which is why it is listed as an allergen.)
Is Lean Greens Gluten Free?
While wheat and barley contain gluten, the younger pre-seed grasses do not. However there is always the possibility of cross contamination, and as we have not been certified as gluten free Lean Greens may not be suitable for coeliac sufferers.
What is the source of the glue used to security seal our tubs? I have no idea. If you are an ethical vegan and this is important to you then our products may not be right for you.
Please also know that while some of our products are suitable for vegetarians/vegans this is by accident rather than by design, and we are not a vegan company, not would we ever market ourselves as such. We do enjoy our bacon butties :)
If you’re still with me so far, here is a breakdown of what’s in our products, so you can make the final decision as to whether of not it is right for you.
If you are looking for specific’s on vitamin/minerals these can’t be provided as the product doesn’t contain any added vitamins or minerals, only those that are naturally present in the raw ingredients.
Does this count as my 5 a day?
So, 5 a day is a really good question...... we used to actually talk about this on our advertising, but we decided to remove it as the technical definition of 5-a-day is not actually defined as an accurate measure. 5-a-day was originally created as a marketing slogan rather than a hard and fast rule!
The other problem is because our product is a natural food source supplement, created using raw ingredients, which may have nutrient profile differences from batch to batch, based on season, crop source etc.
If we committed to a specific claim about how many portions of veg a scoop of Lean Greens contains we'd be breaking all sorts of EU laws, because we couldn't accurately quantify (or prove) it... There are other products out there that are similar to ours which somehow make a claim, but I don't know how they can?
All that being said, Lean Greens is a true supplement which, in an ideal world, should be taken alongside eating veggies and fruits.
We know a lot of our customers struggle, for various reasons, to get a decent range of vegetable portions. Which is where Lean Greens steps in to give you a wide range of veg nutrients from natural raw ingredient sources.
TRIM Protein Powder
This is a Whey Protein Isolate, from cow’s milk, so suitable for vegetarians, but notvegans.
Contains 26g of the finest filtered Whey Protein isolate
Per 30g serving at 120 calories per drink, so ideal for low calorie diet plans.
Ingredients are listed above
Theingredients are all suitable for vegetarian or vegan diets, with the digestive enzymes coming from a fungal source.
From fish, in a gelatine capsule, so not suitable for most vegetarians and vegans.
Each capsule of Good Fats contains the following ingredients: